Finding Time

 

finding-time

With the economy the way it is in the U.S, most people my age (20’s) are having a little trouble finding their footing. For now, I’m back at home (looking for a new apartment), trying to get my degree in communication studies, and working two part-time jobs.  Speaking to many of my classmates, I’m not alone. My schedule consists of waking up at 5am, going to my first job from 6-10 a.m, going to school till 2, then closing at my other job till 10 p.m. So when can I find time to write?

I see all these articles online about how famous writers would get up at the break of dawn to write their masterpiece. Now I don’t know what their schedule is like or if it is as crazy as the typical student. But if I want to escape, what I feel to be a mediocre life, and have my voice heard, then I need to find the time.  If you want something to happen, make it happen.  I mean, I can find the time to write this blog post, so why can’t I use that time to write a few scenes of my show?

The hardest thing, for me, is when I get home I’m exhausted.  As soon as I walk through the door, I just want to eat, relax on my bed, check Facebook, catch up on some shows, watch trendy videos on YouTube for a few minutes, end up watching hours worth of videos, remember I have a 10 page paper to write that’s due in 2 days, write it, then sleep.  Who has time to write through all that? Oh wait…I do.  If I can just quit making excuses, perhaps lay off the TV and social media (not the blog of course), then perhaps my show would be finished by now.

Certainly something to consider…

 

What did you think?

