Becca Jones Talks Wedding Photography

 

Image-1 (2)

Becca Jones, is a well known wedding photographer in Seattle that loves anything nautical. She has been featured on The Knot, Seattle Bride Magazine, and specializes in coastal weddings. She still has bookings for 2016! If you need more info visit her website http://www.bjonesphotos.com/ .

Links to her other social media will follow this post. Why is she in such high demand? Well take a look…

Was it always your dream to become a photographer? 

Nope! Photography is recent and a product of my journey in life thus far. When I graduated from high school, I wanted to be a broadway star and made grand plans to move to NYC. Despite my dreams, I soon realized that the fast paced NY lifestyle wasn’t my cup of tea. I prefer to wake up to the sound of birds and a trickling creek in my backyard. I enjoy the slow pace afforded to me as a work at home mom living in the country. I’m an introvert with extrovert tendencies. I love having Netflix marathons with my husband and campfire date nights.

When did you first learn about photography?

My first memorable experience with photography was shortly after we got engaged. Our wedding photographer made us feel so beautiful and special. I had about a million profile pictures to choose from and felt like I could relive the emotion of our wedding day every time I looked through our album. It was such a high. I believe that every bride should experience wedding photography this way. This experience inspired me to dive headfirst into wedding photography. I got my first DSRL a few months later and my business license a few days later.

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

How did you start your now extremely popular photography business? 

Before I even got my camera, I bought bjonesphotos.com, started a facebook page and made plans to do my very first photos shoot. I picked a seaside location and a beautiful red head. From there, I asked anyone who was willing to model for me so I could continue to practice and improve. I read countless pinterest posts and stalked online photography forums for any tidbit that would further my photography skills or business marketing. I didn’t realize when I started how much time it would take to maintain the business side of photography. But for the most part, I feel confident in my business due to all the programs & workflows I have in place to ensure everything runs smoothly and ahead of schedule.

How has this business changed your life?

My life took a dramatic change when I found out I was pregnant after our one year anniversary. It was always our plan for me to quit my day job and persue photography full time. However, we planned for the photography business to become a full time stable career before we started our family. But God had other plans and sent us the best blessing ever in the form of our sweet boy Jack. I was determined to replace my day job income with photography before Jack arrived so that I could be home with him. It was a lot of pressure and during the first summer after he was born. I cried a lot from the sheer workload of shooting 18 weddings while caring for a newborn baby. I spent a lot of time in front of the computer while he sat in the bouncy seat next to me. I still feel guilty about those days. I feel like I should have spent more time with him and less time working. But I also felt the need to continue contributing financially. Jack was born in May and by July (the middle of the busy wedding season) I felt like I was fast approaching a breaking point. I knew I couldn’t do it all but I wasn’t sure how I to do less without sacrificing precious income. It was then that a dear friend and fellow wedding planner recommended outsourcing my editing. This sounded like just the right amount of change and would allow me to spend more quality time with my boy. I tested out quite a few editors and finally found the one who translates my images the exact way I see them in my head. Long story short, the business helped me appreciate that I can be successful without literally doing everything. It’s helped me let go of control and relax a bit.

B. Jones Photography

You were once a bridal consultant right? Did that fuel your love for wedding photography?

OMG YES. I’ve been obsessed with weddings for years but working at Alicia’s Bridal really helped me garner a fuller perspective of what a bride goes through leading up to the wedding. It also taught me relevant skills that allow me to go above and beyond for my brides. For example, I’ve bustled tons of my brides gowns because they are often too tricky for even the most seasoned bridesmaid. I’ve also sewn a bridesmaid into her gown when it was too large.

I noticed you also do senior portraits, family and couple photos, maternity, as well as weddings. You’re a busy girl and a mom too! How do you do it all?

I set limits for myself. Weddings are my specialty and they will always come first. I set a goal each year for how many weddings I’d like to do and then fill in the gaps with one to two other portrait sessions per week. I wont take more than 2 portrait sessions a week. This is my own personal limit that allows me to have enough work life balance. As for how I do it all, that has been integral to “keeping it all together.” It’s client management, scheduling, workflow and bookkeeping software all in one! Check out my blog post here (http://www.bjonesphotos.com/blog//tech-talk-staying-organized/seattle-wedding-photographe) for more info on why I LOVE it.

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

What is your favorite program to use to edit photos? 

Lightroom. It allows to me process my photos in a quick and consistent manner.

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

B. Jones Photography

www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

www.bjonesphotos.com

B. Jones Photography

B.Jones Photography www.bjonesphotos.com

B.Jones Photography

What advice can you give for those taking an interest in photography, like me? 

Treat your clients well. Spoil them and they will tell all their friends. Practice tons. Start marketing and don’t ever stop. Get a bookkeeping system in order from the get go. Taxes are STRESSFUL. Open a separate bank account and credit card for your business. Keep all your finances separate. Build a beautiful website so that you look legit. 😉 Keep putting yourself out there!

Be sure to check back with her website for her Mermaid Themed styled bridal shoot! Here are all her links to follow. Thank you Becca Jones for sharing your beautiful work with us.

Website: www.bjonesphotos.com

Facebook: PhotographyByBJones/

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/BJonesPhotos/

Instagram: bjonesphotos/

3 thoughts on “Becca Jones Talks Wedding Photography

What did you think?

